Parish Councillors

Seven Councillors were nominated and elected unopposed in May 2019 and will serve for a minimum of four years.

Cllr Laverty retired in summer 2020 and Cllr Jack Caldwell was subsequently co-opted onto the Parish Council.

Cllr Hewitt resigned in November 2021 and Cllr Jim Hardman was co-opted onto the Parish Council.


The most recent version of the Councillor Code of Conduct was adopted at the Parish Council meeting on 9 Mary 2022 and can be found here:  Councillor Code of Conduct – 2022


Barbara Govan

Brook House, Murton, CA16 6LZ      017683 51663

Anne King (Vice Chairman)

Felldodderers, 2 Townhead Cottages, Hilton, CA16 6LU      017683 52308

Tina Longstaff

Ascot House, Murton, CA16 6ND      017683 53651

Alastair Bell

Langton Field, Appleby-in-Westmorland, CA16 6JG      017683 51547

John McDarren (Chairman)

Fairview, Hilton, CA16 6LU      07554 428 002

Jack Caldwell

10 Manor Court, Kirkby Stephen, CA17 4SJ      07808971272

Jim Hardman

1 Park Cottages, Murton, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6ND      01768 254306

Each Councillor has to declare any pecuniary interests they may have in property or activities in the parish. Details of the Murton Parish Councillors’ interests can be found on the Eden District Council website.