Welcome to Murton Parish Council

Please go to the Coronavirus Information Page to read about the temporary arrangements in place with regard to Parish Council business.

The Annual Parish Meeting will be held at 7.30 pm on Monday 1 March.  Details here: Meetings

The next Ordinary Parish Council Meeting will be on Monday 10 May 2021.

Until the Coronavirus restrictions preventing calling public meetings have been lifted, the Parish Council will continue holding virtual meetings.  Details  can be found here:  https://www.murton.org.uk/parish-council/meetings/

21 March 2021 – Census Day – Further details available HERE.

Parish Councils are the lowest tier of local government and are governed by law. The members of the Council are either elected or co-opted onto the Council. Murton Parish Council has seven Councillors covering the communities in Murton, Hilton, Brackenber, Coupland Beck, Langton Beck, Flakebridge and outlying areas of the Pennine fellside.

Murton Parish Council holds four Ordinary Meetings, the Annual Parish Council Meeting and at least one Annual Parish Meeting each year. All meetings are open to the public and there is an opportunity for members of the public to raise issues at the meeting. It is good practice for everyone to know in advance what is to be discussed. The Parish Council cannot vote or make a decision on an issue if it has not been published on the Agenda in advance of the meeting. If you have an issue that you would like to be discussed, please contact one of the Parish Councillors, at least two weeks before the meeting, and s/he will arrange for the item to be included on the Agenda.

Extraordinary meetings are held when a decision is needed on a matter with a deadline earlier than the next scheduled meeting.

The Agendas are published on the parish noticeboards and on the Meetings page of this website.
The meetings start at 7.30 pm and take place at Murton Institute (unless stated otherwise).

The Parish Council held its first virtual meeting on Monday 13 July and will continue to hold virtual meetings until allowed to call public face to face meetings.  The next Ordinary Meeting is scheduled for Monday 1 February 2021.

The Annual Council Meeting, usually held immediately prior to the Ordinary Meeting in May, was cancelled for May 2020.

If you have any issues you would like to raise please contact one of the Councilors, the Chairman or the Clerk of the Parish Council.  Contact details HERE.

Coronavirus Information ›